During dues renewal season, members may apply to serve on one to three of SABA’s 21 Committees. Committee members are appointed by the President of the Board in August and serve for one year, working on various projects, some addressing annual tasks, others addressing timely developments in the Committee's area of expertise. Committees provide members an opportunity to actively participate and network with like-minded individuals looking to give back to their legal community.

Committees are different than Sections as Sections connect members through specialty practice areas, offer specialized CLE and host social events.

Committee Staff Liaison (unless otherwise noted)
Ashley Benson
Project Manager

Active Committees

Civil District Courts Committee

Addresses issues of concern to the judiciary and the attorneys who practice in District Court
Chair: Brad L. Sklencar

Civil Bench Bar Committee

Plans and produces the Civil Bench Bar Seminar
Co-Chair: Judge Cathy Stryker
Co-Chair: Judge Norma Gonzales
Co-Chair: Judge Laura Salinas 
Staff Liaison:  

Community Justice Program Pro Bono Committee

Coordinates pro bono service opportunities and fundraising
Staff Liaison: Sarah Dingivan, Pro Bono Manager,

Community Relations / Media Response Committee

Educates the public and builds public trust in the legal profession by serving as a liaison between attorneys and the public
Staff Liaison: Kristi Cochran, Communications Manager,

Continuing Legal Education Committee

Plans and executes continuing legal education seminars
Staff Liaison: Ashley Benson, Project Manager,

County Courts Committee

Works with various judges and attorneys to improve performance and efficiency in both civil and criminal matters of the county court system
Chair: Steven Treu

Criminal Law & Procedure Committee

Promotes the practice and education of defense attorneys, prosecutors and judges in our local criminal justice system; plans and produces the A.A. Semaan Criminal Law Institute
Vice Chair: Judge Ron Rangel

Criminal Bench Bar Committee

Plans and produces the Criminal Bench Bar Seminar
Chair: Bobby Barrera
Staff Liaison: 

Federal Courts Committee

Assists the federal courts in addressing the problems and challenges facing the deferral judiciary and makes recommendations for improving the federal court system

Fee Dispute Committee

Resolves fee disputes between attorneys and their present/former clients; arbitration panel consists of attorneys and members of lay public
Chair: Gilbert Vara

Justice of the Peace & Municipal Courts Committee

Reviews the operation of the JP and Municipal Courts

Law Week Committee

Plans and promotes Law Week activities, which include activities designed to educate the public about its rights and responsibilities in the legal system
Staff Liaison: June Moynihan, Foundation & Membership Director,

Law School Committee

Serves as a liaison between SABA and law schools
Chair: Jose A. Gamez

Lawyer Referral Committee

Assists the SABA Lawyer Referral Service in improving the availability and quality of legal services offered by LRS
Chair: Dustin Whittenburg
Staff Liaison: Sylvia Hernandez, Lawyer Referral Service Director,

Library Committee

Advises the Bar and Bexar County Commissioners on operation of the Bexar County Law Library

Chair: Gary Hutton

Medical/Legal Liaison Committee

Focuses on issues jointly impacting medical and legal professions; a joint commission of the SABA and Bexar County Medical Society
Chair: Brian Steward
Vice Chair: Phil Hornbeak

Membership Committee

Observes trends in membership to continually develop new and innovative ways to draw new members and to address the static and changing needs of current membership
Staff Liaison: June Moynihan, Foundation & Membership Director,

Mentorship Committee

Organizes the monthly group mentoring programs focused on practice areas, professionalism and ethics
Chair: Jeffrey R. Akins
Staff Liaison: Camille Ayala, Events & Membership Specialist,

Military Liaison Committee

Promotes professional and social interaction between active duty military legal officers and the Bar

Program Committee

Selects speakers for the monthly Bar luncheons
Chair: Jane Macon
Vice Chair: Dawn Finlayson
Staff Liaison: Ashley Benson, Project Manager,

Publications Committee

Serves as the editorial board for the Bar’s bimonthly magazine, the San Antonio Lawyer
Chair: Sara Murray
Vice Chair: Pat H. Autry
Staff Liaison: SABA Communications Manager,

Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee*

Investigates complaints of practicing law without a license; Committee established by Texas Legislature (*Names will be sent to the State Bar of Texas)
Chair: Faye Bracey