Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Newsfeed

Posted on: Jun 27, 2019

“Lawyers have their duties as citizens, but they also have their special duties as lawyers…They have a continuing responsibility to uphold the fundamental principles of justice from which the law cannot depart.” -Robert Kennedy

With a profession rooted in justice, principles and the law, lawyers have a particular kind of opportunity to help the community, often through venues that only lawyers are able to access. When attorneys devote their time and talent to the greater good, the result speaks for itself.

Every year at the San Antonio Bar Foundation Gala, we celebrate the legal community and honor the leaders and shining stars who inspire us.   Our honorees go beyond academic accolades and serve as models of integrity, humility and dedication to justice.    We look forward to celebrating with the San Antonio Young Lawyers Association and the San Antonio Bar Foundation honorees listed below.   Please join our gala sponsors in celebration of our vibrant San Antonio legal family!

SAYLA Outstanding Mentor Award: Judge Daniel Santander

SAYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer Award: Nick Guinn

SAYLA Liberty Bell Award: Drew Galloway, Move Texas

SABA Joe Frazier Brown Sr. Award of Excellence: Emerson “Buddy” Banack

SABF Peacemaker Award: Shannon Sedgwick Davis

SABF Carolyn Thurmond Community Service Award: Timothy Patton

Sponsors: Dykema; Jackson Walker LLP; David M. Evans, Attorney & Counselor at Law; Association of Corporate Counsel; Chief Justice Sandee Marion & Judge Polly Jackson Spencer; Ketterman Rowland &Westlund

For information on becoming a sponsor or purchasing a table, please visit or email